MIDWAY SOLO VARIANT COUNTER RULES
by Joseph Miranda

This variant adds six Japanese land units, seven Allied lands units and two Allied transports (TR). Japanese land
units now must invade USN held islands to gain control of them.

USN Initial Deployment:

Remove the four starting US coastal defense units (Port Moresby, Solomons, Midway, Aleutians). Instead, place:
Ground units:

Alaska: ADC infantry.

Pearl Harbor: RCT infantry.

Midway: USMC Prov infantry, 6 coastal defense.
Port Moresby: 31 infantry, PM coastal defense.
Australia: 21 infantry

Naval Units:

Place TR-1 on Pearl Harbor.

Place TR-2 in the Reinforcement display.

1IN Initial Deployment:

1IN Amphibious Forces:

Mix up all ground units. Place them (full strength) one per TR unit (six total).
Note: Unlike the USN, retain the IJN base units on their starting islands.

Additional Rules

NAVAL TRANSPORT OF GROUND UNITS
Ground units may only go to sea when carried by naval Transport units (TR). Each TR can transport
one mobile ground unit their own side.

Mobile Ground Units

These include all infantry and marine units. Coastal Defense units are not mobile. Generally, transports
pick up land units at the start of an action, move together, and then at the end of the action may drop
them off (or keep them embarked).

IJN mobile ground units will begin the game embarked on TR (see Scenario). The USN player may
embark the mobile ground unit starting at Pearl Harbor on a TR (or not).

Transport Operations
To show a ground unit is being transported by a TR, place the ground unit beneath the TR counter.
Boarding a TR isn’t a separate action, it cvan be part of moving them out to sea. While at sea, ground
units are considered part of the naval unit transporting them. If a TR is sunk, all transported ground
units are also eliminated (and placed in the Refit box). Land units being transported may conduct no
other actions nor do they apply their combat factors (until they disembark).

Note: A Transport move does not necessarily require the amphibious unit itself to move if the entire
movement is across one sea zone—for example, a Transport moves the land unit from an island
bordering one side of a sea zone to another island bordering that same sea zone.

Landing Restriction
Ground unit may not be disembarked if there are any enemy surface naval units in the sea zone



adjacent to the landing port/coastal area. The presence of enemy naval units does not affect
embarkation from a zone.

Player's note: Therefore, it may require an additional naval action to attack and clear enemy naval
units from a sea zone adjacent to a potential landing coastline.

Duration

Land units may remain on TR units at sea for any length of time. To unload, the TR must be adjacent to
a coastal area or port. Place the ground units on the land. This is not a separate action — it is part of the
amphibious movement. If/when a TR unit is used to deliver ground units to an Amphibious invasion
(that is, to either an enemy controlled or contested land area—IJN only can do this), that Transport unit
IS subject to return fire from the enemy units defending there which have an anti-surface ship factor of
one or more.

USN TR Reinforcements

A USN transport, if picked as a reinforcement, can be placed on the US West Coast, Pearly Harbor or
Australia.

JAPANESE AMPHIBIOUS ASSAULTS
When an 1IN transport unit is in the same Point as a USN objective, an amphibious assault occurs—this
occurs during the Amphibious Assault Phase.
Amphibious Assault Procedure

For each Amphibious Assault, perform the following in this order:
(1) 1IN Naval Bombardment: all 1JN surface units in the space conduct bombardment combat. They
use their surface combat factor. A hit reduces one USN surface unit.
(2) 1IN Disembarkation : move all IJN ground units from the transport to the island.
(3) USN Defensive Fire: all surviving USN ground units fire at the IJN ground units using their
surface combat factor.
(4) 1IN Amphibious Assault Fire: all surviving IJN ground units fire at the USN ground units on the
island using their surface combat factor.
(5) Continued Combat: repeats steps (3) and (4) until one side has the only units on the island. That
side wins the battle and has control of the Objective.
Note: Do not repeat steps (1) or (2).

IIN Control

Once the 1IN has taken an objective, the USN loses control of it for the remainder of the scenario. Air
units cannot base on it. The USN cannot retake it. The USN cannot retake such islands (at least within
the span of the game).

Player's note: IJN mobile ground units will remain embarked until they make an amphibious assault.
Once that occurs, any surviving IJN ground units remain on the island of disembarkation. USN mobile
ground can be moved from land area to land area.

Additional US Actions:
G-1: Load or Unload Ground Units. Move mobile ground units onto or off of USN naval Transports

(TR) in the same space. This can be done only if the space containing no IJN units of any type. There
are no amphibious landings against hexes containing IJN units. See Naval Transport of Ground Units.



